

The questions in the practice exam are different than those asked on the actual test. This practice exam should be used as an educational tool in conjunction with the Nebraska Driver's Manual, not as an alternative to studying the manual. Each question has only one correct answer\*. The number in parentheses at the end of each question indicates the page number in the driver's manual where the correct answer can be found.

True or False. Mark the correct answer on the line provided.

- 1. Being under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is a major contributing factor in Nebraska crashes resulting in death and/or serious injury. (p. 23)
- 2 The risk of being in a crash begins to rise noticeably between .04% and .05% BAC, and increases rapidly thereafter. (p. 24)
- 3. At .05% BAC a driver is at no risk of being involved in a crash. (p. 24)
- Nebraska law requires the driver and all front 4. seat passengers to properly wear safety belts. (p. 25)
- Children under age eight must ride correctly 5. secured in a federally-approved child passenger restraint system. (p. 25)
- 6 It is possible that when an air bag deploys. even in a low speed crash, it can pose some risk of injury to children age 12 and younger, elderly drivers and passengers, and short statured adults of 5 feet or less. (p. 24)
- Never use a rear facing infant safety seat in the 7. front passenger seat of an airbag equipped vehicle. (p. 24)
- 8 Motorists should merge with bicycle traffic when preparing for a right hand turn (p. 67)
- 9. Motorcyclists should not constantly change positions within a lane. (p. 66)
- 10 Physicians and/or pharmacists should be consulted regarding any prescription medication and its possible effects on driving. (p. 26)
- 11. Children and infants in child safety seats should always be placed in the rear seat of vehicles equipped with a passenger side air bag. (p. 25)
- The "Blind Spot" is the area directly in front of 12. your vehicle. (p. 64)
- 13. On two way streets, it's equally important to leave room between oncoming traffic and parked cars. (p. 64)

- 14 Turning right at a red light after stopping is allowed, unless signs prohibiting it are posted at the intersection. (p. 30)
- 15. The correct hand signal for a left turn is left arm out and fully extended. (p. 52)
- 16. Flagpersons have the authority to stop traffic. (p. 41)
- \_ Headlights must be used from sunset to 17. sunrise. (p. 59)
- 18. At a four way stop, common courtesy is that the driver who stops first should be permitted to go first. (p. 46)
- 19 You may pass if a solid vellow line is on your side of the middle of a two-lane highway. (p. 42)
- 20. Making a left turn is the only lawful crossing allowed over double yellow lines (p. 42)
- 21. Pedestrians have the right of way when in crosswalks even if the driver has the green light. (p. 50)
- 22. If you park facing uphill where there is a curb, you should set the parking brake and turn the wheels away from the curb. (p. 55)
- 23. White lines separate lanes of traffic going in the same direction. (p. 44)
- It is unlawful to exceed the posted speed limit 24. when passing. (p. 51)
- 25. The State has established different Blood Alcohol Concentration legal limits, based on a driver's age and type of vehicle he/she is driving. (p. 23)

Multiple Choice. Circle the letter that best answers the question.

26. The minimum speed allowed for driving on the interstate is: (p. 58) a) 30 mph c) 55 mph b) 40 mph

d) none of these

Continue on next page.



27.	Signal your turn at least _	feet before planning to
	change direction. (p. 52)	
	a) 50	c) 300

a)	50	C) 300
b)	100	d) 400

- 28. You should allow \_\_\_\_seconds between your vehicle and the car in front of you. (p. 64)
  - a) one secondb) three secondsc) five secondsd) seven seconds
- Orange signs indicate which of the following: (p. 33) a) construction
   c) upcoming hazard
   b) recreation area
   d) rest area
- 30. A triangle shaped road sign requires that the driver: (p. 33)

a) stop	c) yield
b) speed up	d) make a left turn

- 31. When you hear a siren or see the flashing lights of an emergency vehicle you must: (p. 49)
  - a) pull over to the curbb) pull into an intersection
  - c) stop
  - d) a and c
- 32. The speed limit in residential areas is: (p. 50)
   a) 15 mph
   c) 20 mph

   b) 35 mph
   d) 25 mph
- 33. You may not park within \_\_\_\_feet of a fire hydrant. (p. 55)

a) 5 feet	c) 15 feet
b) 10 feet	d) none of these

- 34. When approaching railroad tracks, one should stop for which of the following situations (*p. 56*):
  - a) a signal indicating a train is coming
  - b) a crossing gate is lowered
    - c) the train is visible or a train whistle is heard d) all of these
- 35. When driving on the interstate, slower traffic should keep to the: (p. 58)
  - a) right c) either b) left
- 36. When driving in fog, one should use: (*p. 60*) a. high beams c) no lights
  - b. low beams d) none of these
- 37. The only exception for passing a school bus with its stop lights on and stop arm extended is *(p. 68)* 
  - a. when traveling on a street with broken yellow lines
  - b. when traveling at night
  - c. when traveling in the opposite direction of a
  - school bus on a roadway divided by a median
  - d. none of these
- Drivers of air bag-equipped vehicles should allow at least \_\_\_\_ inches of space between themselves and the steering wheel: (p. 25)
  - a) 6-7 c) 10-12 b) 8-9 d) none of these
- 39. If the wheels of your vehicle fall off the edge of the roadway or pavement you should (p. 61):
  - a) turn back onto the roadway immediately b) reduce speed
  - c) turn back onto the roadway when it is safe d) b and c

Answer Key					
1. T 4. T 7. T 10. T 13. T 16. T 19. F 22. T 25. T 28. b 31. d	2.       T       3.       F         5.       T       6.       T         8.       T       9.       F         11.       T       12.       F         14.       T       15.       T         17.       F       18.       T         20.       T       21.       T         23.       T       24.       T         26.       b       27.       b         29.       a       30.       c         32.       d       33.       c				
34. d 37. c	35. a 36. b 38. c 39. d				

\*Regulations dealing with traffic laws, driver licensing & registration are subject to change.

The Driver's Practice Exam is provided by AAA Nebraska and the Cornhusker Motor Club Foundation with the cooperation of the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles.

